Your ideal truck?

With all the discussion on this forum about “I want that truck”, what REALLY is the best truck to drive (obviously in ones own opinion)?

And why?

Whats most important to you, is it looks / comfort / power?

And no I don’t work for any truck manufacturer type thing or whatever.

My personal choice after much deliberation, and having driven Scanias, Mercs and Volvos, is the Volvo. Ive driven an FL10 and an FM, either one suits me just fine, they usually do what you want them to do, within their own limitations, and theyre super comfy, the FM looks quite sleek but maybe the FL looks a bit silly.

Although I am very fond of the Kenworths for their comfort and supreme power, but theres no point including american / australian trucks in the poll.

I’m only a rigid driver and the best I’ve driven so far was an FL7 6 wheeler, which was also one of the oldest I’ve driven.

Might be getting a brand new Stralis 6 wheeler soon though, so that opinion might change.

Andyroo:
I’m only a rigid driver and the best I’ve driven so far was an FL7 6 wheeler, which was also one of the oldest I’ve driven.

Might be getting a brand new Stralis 6 wheeler soon though, so that opinion might change.

Used to drive an old (1984) F7 8 legger, and i loved the bloody thing

I saw an X reg F7 beavertail 4 wheeler on ebay recently for about 1500 quid it looked in good order and was only down in essex. If I had somewhere to keep a lorry and some spare cash I’d have bought it.

I’ve only ever driven old and well used Volvos…all FL6 or FL7 and I’d much rather have one of them than the DAF LF and CF things that everywhere seems to have nowadays. The DAFs aren’t terrible, but I find the ride better on Volvos.

Have to say one thing about the only Scania I’ve ever driven, which was a day cabbed 6 wheeler…that had a good ride too.