Worth getting my HGV License UK

I wanted to get my license a over a year ago but a friend of mine convinced me to try bus driving first for experience. I’ve been doing it for the last 18 months now so I’m used to driving large vehicles and I’d still like to have a go getting my truck license.

However I’ve heard varying reports of what the money is like, some say it’s less than bus driving (currently I’m on just under £10) but other people have said they are crying out for drivers and the wages are great.

I’m in South Yorkshire.

So what is it?

About the same cat c but with out the annoying passengers moaning drive your late you’ve missed my stop etc etc

It varies a lot. But it’s not unreasonable to expect £9 ish for CAT C.

Give me a call - 10% discount and FREE driver cpc.

Pete :laughing: :laughing:

one agency I have spoken to is offering between 9 and 12 an hour for C but I have found 9 seems to be an all round figure that is achievable

Hmm it doesn’t seem worth doing it for a wage drop. Is this the bare minimum wage, what’s the top end once you’ve experience and is it worth getting both class 1 and 2?

Class 1 does pay better than class 2 yes. I’m happy taking the wage cut I took knowing I will enjoy the job, that I have prospects to earn more when I do my class 1 and that I can’t abide doing office work!

Yeah I can’t stand office work either, that’s why I started driving to avoid the office politics.

So what’s am average wage on class 1 or on class 2 after you’ve got sone experience?

Also do you find it better than on the buses, I like the idea of no passengers and I can listen to music (yay).

Here in the North East cat C & CE are mainly the same not a lot of difference if any on wages it varies form £70 per day -£110 per day or £8.5 per hr - £9.5 per hr some pay a little less some pay a little more