Working notice at a job

basically i am desperate to leave my job non lorry/haulage based everything about it is beyond rubbish i have to work a months notice i cant see any haulage company will wait a month for me to start especially as im a newbie can i legally just walk away from my job with out losing my basic monthly wage ?

Need to check your contract of employment

You are legally bound by a contract, however it is rarely worth an employer’s time and money to sue if you breach a contract by failing to work out a notice. Of course, they don’t have to pay you for the time if you haven’t worked it.
In these situations most employers will be reasonable if you talk to them and ask if you can leave after 4 weeks rather than at the end of the formal notice period.
If you do leave without working your notice then you risk getting a bad reputation. Depending on what you do, this bad reputation may follow you around and affect your opportunities for future employment.
Finally, you signed the contract and voluntarily accepted the obligation to work per the contract. If you break the contract you are breaking your word, which is to behave in an untrustworthy way and is a morally bad thing to do. Better to to talk to your current employer and see if they will let you leave early. If they say no then speak to your future employer.

Technically you can walk out anytime you want, problem is the after effects.

You’ll not get a good reference, they’ll not be under obligation to pay you from moment you left.

Also could be classed as dereliction of duty so any pension/benefits could be lost.

Can’t you use any unused leave in lieu of notice if you get a driving job? That way maybe only a week or so any new employer is waiting

There is no legal obligation to work your notice. You are perfectly entitled to say I am giving you a month’s notice, but not driving your vehicle anymore, nor doing any more work for you.