Winter

I know it’s quite a way away, but it’s already playing on my mind. I’m still very new to all this so i’m still learning in the dry weather :blush: (proven today when i hit my nearside mirror on a bush/tree and cracked it) :angry:

I cant say i’m looking forward to driving in snow and ice for the first time in an artic, especially on some the roads i go on. I know to go slow, safe and steady, but what’s it like driving in these conditions? How do the unit and trailer react?

I jumped straight from van driving to Artic, so i’ve never driven a class 2 in this weather either :confused:

I figure some of the drivers on here have been through it all so might be able to offer some advice.

Have to stop the truck to apply the diff lock if going up an icy or steep hill.

Watch a series of Ice road truckers :bulb:

take plenty of spare underpants :laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

stay calm dont PANIC and react causiously dont think anyone can prepare you for your own experiences. Mostly nothing happens but with farm work when approaching mud tracks or steep inclines if its wet or ice stop and and put the diff lock in and if you start to wheel spin lift the middle axle up to give some more weight on the drive axle. But the worst thing is to panic.

shuttlespanker:
take plenty of spare underpants :laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

And a good supply of wet wipes :blush: :blush: :blush: :blush:

Suedehead:
delted

That will probably get deleted, but that was ■■■■■■■ brilliant :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

also gone
That will probably get deleted, but that was [zb] brilliant :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:
[/quote]
I agree ■■■■■■■ class :grimacing:

Last year was the worst Ive experienced so far, i got stuck many a time up the highlands and in the borders.