Why is finding work so hard?

Hi Everyone,

Ive been recommended your site from another forum (Volkszone aka Vzi) and basically i have to ask the question. Im a new driver i passed my Class one roughly a fortnight ago aNd passed my class two last december. Ive managed to get a little rigid work since christmas but nothing to keep the wolves from the door. Ive lived around the trucking business all my life and im a third generation trucker but i just cannot get any work now at all class 2 and definatly not class 1.

Its cost me almost £2500 to get through my two tests (which i may add passed both first time with less than 7minors on the class 2 and 5minors on the class 1 - thats out of a maximum of 15 - and ive been told thats bloody exceptionable) anyway its seems that its becoming increasingly difficult for anyone to take you seriously. I mean ive been told anything from you wont get any work because of that lack of experience to not holding the license for long enough! Lets be honest here i took these courses and paid my hard earned cash to start a new career and new life but im just hitting a brick wall!!! If i left my license in the draw for the next year to two years i could easily get a job (something else ive been told) but where will that get me? No experience and less of an idea and more of a danger to the road and to myself!!!

Sorry for sounding so random and harsh but its becoming very frustrating and well finacially torturous. It’ll end up coming to the point where we’ll have to leave our home because we cannot meet the bills (rent excluded in that)

Any advise would be very helpfull and very much apprieciated :slight_smile:
oh and i live down in Chelmsford in Essex

Cheers Scott