Wagon with no 12v socket

Hi folks the firm I work for has some vehicles in the fleet without a 12v cigarette lighter socket and we don’t have a assigned wagon to ourself so we are in a different wagons every other day, since it’s multi drop work and I’m new to the firm and routes can anyone recommend a decent external power source? I have a solar panel charger but with the British sun always shy to come out I’m looking at a alternative means just to initially help me along until I find my footings around these new places. Any advice on products will be much appreciated.

I’m assuming that there will be a 24v outlet somewhere so I’d recommend one of those voltage droppers that plugs into your ciggie lighter socket. Not that expensive either.

roadking.co.uk/24v-12v-dropp … 4-12v.html

what u trying to plug in m8

What are you looking to charge? Most phones and Sat Navs can be charged from 12 and 24 volts. They tend to work on 5 volts, USB voltage and the charging leafs drop the 12 or 24 to 5 volts.

Or you can get an external battery “power bank”. I’ve got one that is 25000Mah I believe. Will comfortably keep a phone or sat nav going all day. Take it home and charge it up at night.

Yes sorry I’m wanting to keep my satnav on the go, it has a usb cable which plugs into the a cig lighter sockets. Ahhhh “power bank” that’s what somone told me about

What make of Sat Nav. If it’s using a USB cable then it takes a 5v charge and your car charging cable will have a built in dropper and it’s likely to be 12/24v. Have a look at it and it will probably be marked as such.

It will be ok in the 24 volt socket

Most car plugs for sat-navs, phones or similar devices will be able to be used in a 12v or 24v socket, as they step it down to a 5v USB supply. It will usually be marked on it. Just like most mains adaptors for them can be used in 110v or 230v.