Wagon-and-Drag or Artic for lessons/test?

I passed my C Test in 2003 after c.10 hours tuition. I hadn’t driven a truck prior (or since) the test.

I now wish to add C+E to my licence. I wish to do so not for employment (at this point in time) but
mainly so that I can add B+E and C1+E to my licence.

I have taken two Artic lessons so far -

• Mercedes Box-body artic - gears too close for my liking (couldnt get the hang of them) PLUS the instructor talked
    too much (very distracting when you are trying to take in so much in such a large vehicle).

• DAF Tanker - didnt like the instructor - too patronising (I’ve been driving for 20+ years…I’m not a 17yr old!)

In both cases I also found it difficult to adjust to the tight line the trailer takes, and I found the reversing tricky.
(I’m sure if I persisted I would get the hang of an artic, but perhaps it would take too long/cost a lot more if I did so)

I’m now considering trying a wagon-and-drag for lessons/the test.

What do you guys think?
Is it easier to learn/pass using a wagon-and-drag?

Many find using W&D easier for the test then do a little artic training posts test

I found it easier to pass in w&d tbh

Why don’t you go have a test drive in 1 see how you find it then decide

best try both … I would personally just take the bull and go with an artic you already have a C which is half a WAG & DRAG

As Animal has suggested a trial drive would be your best option. Many trainers including ourselves are happy to arrange these free of charge with no obligation to book afterwards. You would then be in a better position to see which type of vehicle suits you best.

The main advantage of passing in a W&D is that the training time will be less and therefore cheaper while still ending up with the same licence.

The main advantage of passing in an artic is that you will most likely be driving that type of vehicle after passing the test.