Visiting companies, a good idea?

Ok, me again… I have posted in other threads what I’m about to say but I thought it would be better to start my own thread on this as it may help other noobs aswel.
So passed my C back in early Jan. Since then i have been writing, emailing and phoning different company’s and agency’s but as yet no real luck. I’m sure this is a common for many other people. I was talking to one of our drivers who delivers where I work and he said to dress smart, put work gear in the car, and make a list of all the haulage company’s around my area and go visit them. This I am going to do hopefully this week. Was hoping to get a bit of advice on things I should look out for I.e what to wear and what to say. I have heard success stories on people doing this and landing themselfs a job. do I go in, and try and mention one of the first things is that I’m a new driver and have no
ExPerience? Part of me says yes because it shows I’m honest and part of me says no because they will just ask me to leave. This is the sort of thing I wanted an opinion about from people who know what their on about. The last thing I want it is to be given false hope so please don’t be affraid to say it how it is…

Regards. Clint

Hi Clint