Unaware of an accident

Hi everyone. I’m a very new driver (still in my first month on the road) and I’ve just been told by a company I did a day placement with (through agency) that I apparently hit a fence post whilst turning in an industrial estate in an 12t rigid. It’s possible this did happen (I was on that estate when it’s said to have happened) but I honestly don’t remember hitting/bumping anything! Didn’t feel, see or hear anything and I even got out and checked before manoeuvring to ensure I had room (I’m still getting used to the size of the trucks).

I’ve been told this has been passed to the police as I didn’t stop or report it but I didn’t even know it had happened. Now I’m bricking myself that I’m going to get a costly fine, points on my licence and/or prosecuted.

Can anyone offer advice?

I believe it’s only an offence to leave the scene of an accident if you are aware of it. I don’t think bumping a post counts.
Don’t stress, no one died and if it’s just a post, the police won’t care!

Cheers Evil8, I’m trying so hard to be squeaky clean and careful getting the call about this has caused me no end of stress!

What a nice company I bet you can’t wait to work for them !!!

The only way they can say it was you, Where you filmed or they does the company you worked for have witness statements…

They can only prove that you was at that area, at that time on that date… That post could have been knocked by the by a following truck…

Or would it be you knocked the post on that date, location and time and didnt say anything thinking…no one would notice or that it would go away ?

Pictures, videos, witnesses ?
Concrete (post [emoji6]) Evidence ?
You know that you were there, but so were loads of other Lorries !
Did someone actually see you hit it ?
Or did someone simply clock your number & reported you for some old damage ?

Newbie66: