Tramping Start Times

What’s the chances of maintaining a regular sleep/wake pattern while tramping? Is it kind of expected that you’re flexible between day and night shift start times?
I’m a day driver and have never done any nights out.

Depends on who you work for. On the bulkers I started anywhere between 4am and 8am depending on what I was at for the day. Mills not open til about 6 and arable farmers dont like getting out of bed :laughing:
On the brick crane it was around 7am every morning, building sites dont tend to open til about half 7-8 and I used to like running a little later in the evening and getting parked somewhere close for a lie in.

Any where between 00:01 and 23:59 in any given day

RC88:
What’s the chances of maintaining a regular sleep/wake pattern while tramping? Is it kind of expected that you’re flexible between day and night shift start times?

It’s like everything else in this job mate,.they all try and see how hard they can push you,.and how far they can go in taking the ■■■■…fact.

BUT…they only do it as far as YOU let them get away with it. :bulb:

I usually start at 6am, or if it suits me around 5, never before as:I know my limitations and I ain’t at my best doing stupid early starts,.I rarely take less than 10 off, again unless it suits me…9 off is a minimum not a limit. :bulb:

If they come at you with ‘You can legally start at whatever o clock’ ,.(and an initial polite constructive objection from you does not work)…tell them they can legally do 24 hour days but you bet they sure as hell won’t be.
Also the old… ‘Well ■■■■ starts at 3 am’’ chestnut, tell em to give the job to ■■■■ then,.and you’ll do a 6 am start.
Or if you want ridiculous early starts,.and/or the job you do specifically demands stupid starts, then crack on, but the job does NOT HAVE to be some kind of stress laden endurance excercise.

Just set your own parameters, from day 1, but still get through your workload,.and they can not say anything.