Trailers imports

HI any one here ever bought a trailer from holland?.
I have been offered a new trailer from a samro at approx £3000 cheaper than buying the same one from their dealer here.It has full european warranty plus comes with extras i.e boxes, wheel carriers, armor curtains,spare wheels,water carrier.All the extras would cost me over £1000 here so i would be saving more like £4000 on uk list price.Can you see any problems buying it direct plus how do i get it plated here :confused: ?

i dont know much about this at all but i couldnt really see a problem it would just be classed as an import and another thing is look at all the trailers in the uk and the european side of the channel a lot spend their time on unacompaied frieght so they should all be the same spec. ( apart from the optional extras as mentioned.)

I am no expert but does the trailer not have TO BE CERTIFIED with a
TYPE APPROVAL before being allowed to be sold in the UK,

HAVE YOU ASKED THE DEPT OF TRANSPORT GIVEING THEM ALL THE DETAILS OF THE builder and the trailer so that you get then a offical answer which may save you lots of grief.

If memory serves me correctly

When you it you will be charged an ex-vat price (because you are buying it for export)

When you bring it into the country you need to go to the customs office in the dock and pay them the VAT @ 17.5% on the purchase price

You will also need the get a UK type approval certificate to give to vosa (not dvla as trailers are not registered in the UK) for mot & plating certificates

Not 100% but pretty sure

Its a long time ago but we bought a couple of road barrels from France and Belgium, Im sure when I picked one up from the dock I took it straight to Beverley testing station and they eventually issued a plating certificate.

Contact the seller, as Samro are common on our roads now. Brian Yeardley and Bowkers were running them