Tomorrow I'll be mostly driving

Something similar to this :smiley: :open_mouth: (couldn’t find a piccy of the actual DAF i’ll be driving)

If your in the vicinity of the M62 and see the driver with a look of absolute dread on his face and white knuckles on the steering wheel, that’ll be me :wink: .

PS: I will have a co-pilot on board to complete my 2 day induction.

You’ve been tangoed, and keep those curtains on the trailer tighter, good Luck.

2 day induction seriously?

merc0447:

Yep, today was loadsa paperwork, learning about co procedure & the H&S stuff. Tomorrow is an assessment/training exercise with real drops, I personally can’t fault it, if a co want’s things doing a certain way then this way is the way to go imho. I’m new to artics, but not to truck driving, and if I’m honest I more than welcome an experienced co-pilot to give me some pointers. There’s one other thing about doing it this way, short of being completely “shafted” by this co, they’ve certainly earned my loyalty with the way they’ve looked after me so far, from the first enquiry about artic training up to my start today.

Not a bad motor to start on mate! I agree with your thoughts on the induction. If you’ve never done the job before it is far less daunting having someone with you rather than having a set of keys chucked at you and off you go. It also shows that the company is a professional set up and dedicated to its drivers IMO. Good luck.

As said above, get the curtains as tight as you can. Makes life easier and looks nicer too…

Let be honest, you wouldn’t be too pleased if the misses has saggy curtains would you■■?

If your on for via master you must be in or around Leeds?

Curtains will be to regulation tautiness :slight_smile:
I’m in Huddersfield, so a little bit of a trek, even more so when they move. But a start is a start and they’re not the worst paying co around, by far. I was even considering tramping for Boardalls at Borobridge if I came unstuck with a start on bendys.