Timesheet fraud

Since RobK is whinging about people not posting…

I’ve done a reasonable amount of agency work for a few different companies (who will remain nameless for reasons which will become apparent).

At a few places, I’ve been doing trunk runs in convoy with other drivers (who will also remain nameless). In a significant number of those cases, the other drivers have all put down inflated shift length times.

For example, we do a run to another RDC, where it takes about 8 hrs. However, in the words of another driver, “If we put down 8 hours, they’ll expect it done in 8 hours every night. The management thinks that it takes 10 hours, so that’s what we put.” One of the other drivers (a regular on that run) usually ends up submitting my run sheet for me, since I’m still a newbie, and he thinks he’s trying to help me out.

In at least one case, the security guard (the only person left back on site when we return) is in on it, and signs them off as getting back over 1 1/2 hours after they actually went home.

The employers are well-known large distribution companies, so in some respects, you may regard them as “soft” targets, but this is still technically fraud. I’m rather uncomfortable with this.

It’s not that I don’t want the money, but I’m more of the “honest day’s pay for honest day’s work” kind of guy. I don’t want to refuse to work for those clients, because the jobs are actually rather good, and the pay rate is pretty reasonable - it certainly beats dragging 8ft high pallets around uneven roads with a pump truck.

So, what should I do? I don’t want to be a whistleblower and spoil their cozy arrangement, since I don’t really care what they do (and let’s face it, if I did, I wouldn’t really want to be working there again), but I’d rather not be doing it myself. If I submit correct timesheets, people might smell a rat (“why is the agency guy doing it in 2 hours less than all the others?”).

Opinions?

Enjoy the money.