The UK is short of workers

Personally I’m so happy. Last 20 years. I grant workers filling the jobs no one wants , like lgv drivers, warehouse worker’s, food processor s,
Majority foreign,
Will it affect our economy definitely.
I’m just a lorry driver but unlike our government I know things are going to get intresting

As I say this country has treated certain areas of employment with contempt for decades,
It’s all coming home to roost now.

Unless the government simply grant visas for foreigners to come here and drive lorries (or pick fruit, or whatever). I think that will happen soon.

Back to £9.50 p/h it shall be.

Know your place.

A shortage of anything means a price increase, in this case the price of labor which of course means higher prices of products and services so I don’t see the cause for celebration? On top of reduced international competitiveness + being a less attractive country for investors foreign and domestic combined with a mountain of debt which the gov’t is barely able to service as it is. I still maintain my theory that the work force is there but the idiotic ‘‘no questions asked’’ furlough scheme has skewed the availability…Wait until it ends (if) and the businesses that relied on it to exist as zombie companies go down along with any ‘‘employees’’, then the tide may turn

Pay me 80%, heck - 50% of my wages and I’ll be more than happy to stay home and save lives all year long, any time.

Whereas the last few years there has been a buyer’s market, where companies have essentially gotten used to relying on agency staff and being able to get staff seasonally at low wage, this may no longer be possible.