tarmac quarrys

tarmactipper:
Hi any drivers out there who used to run out of Tarmacs Bankfield quarry in Clitheroe? I have been running out of there for the last 20 years as a relief driver for the owner drivers,but alas the glory days are long gone, only gory days now!!! They only mix coated products and stopped quarrying stone 3 years ago. I think by new year it could close so i have started researching about Bankfield and would like anybodys pictures or memories about the quarry,

Hello tarmactipper, I never took any loads out of bankfield but I took plenty in with this wagon.

Plenty of them on my thread tarmac. :confused: :unamused:

Why the undecided and roll eyes smilies? Thought you wanted pics of the lorries that ran from Bankfield?

They can easily be removed.

BonkeyDollocks:
Hi Tarmactipper and welcome to the board. I’m an avid Tarmac wagon enthusiast and have been since 1974 when old enough to ride shotgun in me old man’s AEC when he worked out of Topley Pike for Tarmac. Love to see fresh pics of old khaki beauties from back in the day so if you have any could you please upload them onto here?

As for Bankfield quarry, me dad did a few weeks up there in the mid to late 70s working as a fitters mate when they were dismantling a crusher. He’s told me of the fleet they had back then a couple of which I show below.

It’s a great shame that such a busy quarry is on it’s last legs; only producing the odd load of black. The place seems to have gone the way of Caldon Low quarry not too far from me. That place imports stone and only makes coated as well. They have a huge new tar plant as well so it seems daft just to run it on and off but I guess the market dictates how busy it is.

On with the pics. The first two were taken in the 80s while the bottom two in the late 70s.

PS. Click the links to see a couple more tippers that operated at Bankfield:

flickr.com/photos/roadtransp … 7028472647

flickr.com/photos/roadtransp … 7028472647