Supposed driver shortage again!

thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/ne … omment-rig

Must be true if it was in The Sun :wink:

They’ve obviously counted all the jobs on all the sites not realising most of them don’t exist. It’s just agencys trying to sign up drivers.

Another work of fiction.

I e-mailed 10 agencies and not one replied! I’m as ■■■■■■ off as a midget with a yo-yo! :wink: :smiley:

I was compelled to send a email to Jane Hamiltion

Dear Jane Hamilton

I was compelled to write re your article

Most if not all of the jobs advertised are in fact agencies
advertising for the same job, or non existant jobs just to get drivers
on their books, Many sign up with a promise we have loads of work. and
they wait and wait beside a phone waiting for that call into work

I suggest you contact trucknetuk.com which is a HGV / LGV
driver site, I am sure the guys on there will put you right.

I am a professional LGV driver of 18 years, Down in Cambridgeshire I
am registered with a agency, I have had around 4 months work in the
last 12 months, usually bad shifts or very unsocialble shifts, I
fought for my son at court and I will not let work and my time with my
son conflict, thus another reason why finding a work life balance is
so hard for many truck drivers.
Many firms like stobarts offer work, Yes Tuesday to Sunday, Ok for the
single drivers, but those who wish to spend that quality time with
their children and partner, its not an ideal situation

I am moving up north, to get more chance of work, but I still do not
believe that the jobs you stated are actaully real jobs

As they say, “never let the truth get in the way of good story”.

Wow I got a reply back

Dear Sophie-Jane

Many thanks for taking the trouble to write to me. I am asking the DWP to
check for me and will get back to you straight away.

Kind regards

Jane

Jane Hamilton
Consumer Editor
The Sun
3 Thomas More Square
London E98 1XY