straps and ratchets

back in the days of roping/sheeting , you would occasionally see the odd hank laying at the side of the road and rarely see a length of rope . but now that the majority of loads are strapped, the roads are littered with straps/ratchets. why!!? , is it because they are weaker and snap or because drivers no longer check the tension after a few miles to check for the load settling and they simply loosen up and fall off ?.

The other day I was coming off the M56 and heading north on the M6, on the slip road there must of been 10 to 15 straps in the middle of the 2 lanes. Cars a Motor bikes were diving all over the dam place to miss them, I would think somone forgot to put them away after tipping.

A lot of straps rub away on sharp edges of steel etc and then the fly off and land in the road. I am just a Fleet Engineer on my travel and I pick them up on A roads all over the place.

Was at the side of a truck on the M69 loaded with steel and using strap, with nothing on the edges to stop the strap webbing from rubbing at them.

Drivers could also forget to check them when the load settles down and then they could come loose.

Cheers Welly.

I’ve lost a few from time to time leaving my kit box open (schoolboy error…) :S
People also leave them on steps, hanging off load bay doors, on the fuel tank etc etc.

A length of rope is a dam sight longer a rachet strap!

A rope might slip off a hook now and again or a poor single dolly uncurl, but each cross of the rope was looped at the hook either side, the rope couldn’t get lost unless it got trapped by a wheel, and then it would only be the length between wheel and hook.

Straps are single lengths, whether attached to hook or body its steel on steel so no natural grip there, plus the weight of the ratchet pulls the whole thing off.

Lastly, too few give a toss or take a pride in their work any more.