Steady Eddie

Dun a night shift for Stobarts out of Dagenham.Sent me to P&G West Thurrock to collect a loaded trailer bound for their Rugby Depot…On collection I sighted the load…all unstrapped… I got only Two strappes on the vehicle… Rang their communication centre which I was told is in Warrington, and got told that’s all u need.I am an agency driver so I don’t mind securing a load to VOSA standards… More time more money for ME…Guy got right into one…Blah Blah…our drivers etc…Did say to him as we had never met would you talk to me like that if we were in Tesco’s car park,Cos I know what my response would be…anyway told to bob tail back…and I won’t be used by them anymore… They must be descendants from the SS

Spoke to one of my mates who is still at Appleton.

Looks like all the stickers are on the curtains now.

It’s their policy to only strap the back of the load and not every pallet.
If you load bottled water ,they request the last two pallets to be secure .

Unfortunately these situations are becoming more and more commonplace within the Stobart community.
Planners are not taught the correct procedures and unfortunately they are held to ransom by the whole “it gets there or else” philosophy".
I see more and more cases every day when it comes to unsafe loads, driving infractions or DVSA inspections all falling on the unsuspecting driver - usually agency folk who are trying to earn an honest living.
Kudos to you sir for saying no.
I advise any and all agency workers to take pictures, make notes and make the correct phone calls. This company is NOT above the law.

I’m sure you are so upset. Was it a life long ambition to drive for them? Probably not lol

Standard policy for stobart’s,back two plts only strapped…
I’m sure there’s a thread about their drivers getting pulled
by dvsa.

Stobart’s pay the fine,as that’s what the drivers are told to do.

March on.

Rog270: