starting up

hi all, bear with me on this please, I’m on furlough at the mo, my boss rang me up yesterday. a bit about myself 1st, I’m a driver of 38 yrs, 33 on artics on uk euro/work, always employed, at the mo driving a 10t on uk work, generally south Wales, we had work delivering bathroom & kitchen products, but we are classed as a distribution company so can rightly carry anything, but wasn’t overly busy, as I said my boss rang, & an idea has been formed by those I’m charge, that, they may be closing down the transport side, but keeping the cpc, or if it’s viable, asking drivers if they , either want to carry on the work as owner drivers, taking over the payments for the vehicles, or, send them back to merc & financing their own, using the work we have to cover outgoing routes e.g filling the truck witjh north & south Wales & maybe Bristol/ Somerset depending on weight, them get a return load north, i rightly could go up to 15t but with some of the villages houses etc. anything bigger is be struggling, I know I’d need to put down insurance costs etc into it firstly, but am not sure what costs per mile I’d be looking for to make a wage / profit as it’s only a small rigid, all cabs are sleepers, we have fuel cards we could use but not gone into any specific details as yet.
any help would be appreciated
thanks for taking the time taken to read this

Just gonna jump right in with the O licence comment… every individual “owner driver” would need their own operator’s licence, 8k cash in the back.

Sent from my SM-A920F using Tapatalk

AlexBarclay:
Just gonna jump right in with the O licence comment… every individual “owner driver” would need their own operator’s licence, 8k cash in the back.