Sliding skeleton trailers

How do these work?? I’ve never used one before, I am guessing you use your red airline on the 2nd connecter on the trailer??

Been told to pick one up at 4:30 in morning and make it long enough for a 45ft container, would like abit of a heads up if you can chaps.

Cheers

Cheryl Fernandez Versini on a sledge.

That’s a sliding skeleton.

eagerbeaver:
Cheryl Fernandez Versini on a sledge.

That’s a sliding skeleton.

Cheers for that EB :wink:

Apologies for being unable to assist you in a constructive manner mate. My skills are average at best !!

Yeah thats pretty much it. You undo the brake line, put it in the other connector on the trailer and then reverse back and it shortens the trailer. They can be a pain in the arse, especially when the container is heavy. If the runners are old and worn then it sticks and wont slide back. Sometimes as well if the chassis is slightly twisted, the pins at the back wont go in properly and need either a whack with a pipe or sometimes rocking back and forth will work.
Edit : Just noticed you asked for 45 ft containers. the only trailers I ever used for 45ers just had extendable air hose runner and a bar at the back that extended.

yt03:
How do these work?? I’ve never used one before, I am guessing you use your red airline on the 2nd connecter on the trailer??

Been told to pick one up at 4:30 in morning and make it long enough for a 45ft container, would like abit of a heads up if you can chaps.

Cheers

Trailers vary a little but the information on which pin position is usually written on it on a sticker.

As its gonna be dark and early heres some basics that might help.

First thing to do is apply trailer brake and check which hole the pin needs to be in, for a 45 its probably the one in front of the last one, they are quite close together its also the one for the 20’ loaded travelling position on some trailers but not all.