Shift cancelled 30 minutes prior to starting

Hi I’m new to working for agencies and wanted peoples advice on opinions on this.

The agency had arranged a shift for me 4 days earlier, 30 minutes prior to the job starting I get a call from the agency telling me the jobs been cancelled. I’m then told by the agency that’s just the way it is as an agency driver and I would have to accept it.

Obviously I told them I expected to be paid regardless, I was then told there was no guarantee this would be the case, it was up to the clients to decide whether I would be reimbursed and not the agency.

Is this really the industry norm as an agency driver if your jobs cancelled?

Get used to it, I charge if I’m already on my way when cancelled but ■■■■ it up cos you won’t be getting paid

Whirlwind:
Get used to it, I charge if I’m already on my way when cancelled but ■■■■ it up cos you won’t be getting paid

So your saying this is standard practice

I wouldn’t say it’s standard practice and if it happens too often I’d start to wonder if the agency had the job in the first place, some agencies will book people for jobs they hope to get then claim the jobs been cancelled when the job doesn’t materialise :imp:

Having said that this sort of thing can happen, how you deal with it should depend on how often it happens, I can’t remember ever having a job cancelled with 30 minutes notice but jobs do get cancelled from time to time.

Goes with the territory I’m afraid :unamused:

tachograph:
I wouldn’t say it’s standard practice and if it happens too often I’d start to wonder if the agency had the job in the first place, some agencies will book people for jobs they hope to get then claim the jobs been cancelled when the job doesn’t materialise :imp:

Having said that this sort of thing can happen, how you deal with it should depend on how often it happens, I can’t remember ever having a job cancelled with 30 minutes notice but jobs do get cancelled from time to time.