Securing loads

Hi im quite new to driving truck im currently driving a artic daf xf im just trying to get info on how and what loads need to and dont need to be secured i work for a small company and all our trailer are old and dont have the internal straps like the new ones so im just trying to get a bit more info and tips/advice as i do general curtain sided haulage and im keen to learn so i dont get in any sticky positions if i get pulled or if anything ever happend. Thanks yatsay

Toilet rolls, crisps and the like I wouldn’t bother but owt else that could move or come out the side then strap it, 1/2 hr strapping is better than 1 hr with vosa in a laybye IMO.

Simple rule.

If you wouldn’t take it on a flat without securing then don’t move.

Anything double stacked, heavy, should be strapped, obviously with light stuff you can get away with not strapping, but I think the rule is, and I will probably be corrected, unless you have load bearing curtains then you should strap every pallet, and even with load bearing you should strap the back pallets.

I’m assuming when you say “toilet rolls” you mean a pack or two…? reality is, a full 1.8mtr stack of them is heavy and needs strapping…

Ministry opinion is everything requires strapping… recall reading a while ago about a driver being fined for an insecure load… all fine and dandy until the small print. it was the drivers dog in the cab!!!

similarly with aggregates/turf/peat etc… drivers only ever putting single span set across the rear and being fined for insecure loads for both lack of straps, and the strap that was on was insufficient for the load it was restraining.

it’s OK to sit and say “that load will never move”… everyone will claim to be the best driver on here, but no one can control the numpty in front slamming the brakes on and then watching as your entire load shifts… explain that at Harrods loading bay when carrying 12 pallets of Doulton Crystal… but it’s not my fault, it wasn’t heavy enough to strap.