REVERSING AN ARTIC

HELLO
MY NAME IS GORDON MCCRAE I AM A TAXI DRIVER AT PRESENT IN BLACKPOOL. ABOUT 2 YEARS AGO I TOOK MY CLASS 1 TEST AN PASSED
I WOULD LIKE TO GET BACK INTO THE JOB PLEASE COULD ANYONE OFFER ANY ADVICE ON REVERING AN ARTIC AS IT WAS NOT ONE OF MY STRONG POINTS AT THE TIME :frowning: :frowning: THANKS GORDON

First off, please turn your caps lock off, it counts as shouting on the net.

The main advice anyone has ever given about reversing an artic is it take it slowly and don’t be afraid of taking several goes to get it right.

The other main tip is to Get Out And Look. Plan ahead and decide what you want to do to get it done. Take your time and think.

see if a local intructor who uses artics will let you use them for a session just reversing around - I imagine in blackpool there must be a huge coachpark somewhere you can mess around on ?

hI gordon wellcome to trucknet same as allicat says first take a look then take your time try not to over steer take as many shunts as you need and dont be shy ask for help if you need itwe dont bite.
good luck out there Bill

And use small turns of the wheel as opposed to the cab wagging from left to right like a dogs tail.

Yep, only do small turns on the wheel. You only need a few degrees of angle between unit and trailer to have the trailer coming round in a nice steady curve. It’s definitely the biggest mistake both inexperienced and experienced drivers make, by oversteering, wagging the unit from left to right and having the trailer snaking about all over the shop. Also, the shorter the trailer is, the worse it gets! Good luck.