Retired

I am a driver no more, I did my last shift on Thursday.
Passed my test in 1986 and went full time Class1 in March 1987 stayed with the same firm until redundancy in 2000.
Agency from 2000 until last Thursday.
Varied work from 2000 - 2002, 6 months van driving which I loved but a long way from home so not a long term prospect, after that odd shifts of a day or two or a week or two at TNT, Royal Mail, Carlsberg, Brakes along with one or two odd shifts here and there.
2002 passed ADR and spent the last 16 years at Calor on the agency.
Great people to work for and decent wages but the introduction of inward facing cameras and the further prospect of every minute of the day or night having to be accounted for has finished it for me, i’m retiring around 3 years early and am really looking forward to having a life.

I am near retiring age, I think that I will jack it in as well. The job isn’t what it was,in a bad way. Too much regulation and traffic to deal with now.

Hope you enjoy your retirement Dave, I am sure you will. Personally I could not do a ‘normal’ lorry driving job these days and I class my self as semi retired from driving anyway.
Good luck.

Congratulations,Dave.I retired 3 years ago and I hope you enjoy your life as much as I do mine.I finished after doing 10 years ish on nights.On my last shift I clocked on at 1800hrs on DCPC day.The powers that be couldn’t decide whether Sept.9th(?)was tha last day I could drive or the first day I couldn’t.I was sent home with 8 hrs.pay.Result.It was the DCPC requirement that did it for me,although I could tolerate the actions of the general public on the roads it was the behaviour of an increasing number of our so-called professionals that put the tin lid on it for me.

Don’t blame you lads finishing.