Query for first time truck buyers

Hi, Newbie here :slight_smile:

I´m starting a business in which I am looking to purchase my first truck second hand to start off with. I intend purchasing an 18 tonne curtainside.
I will not be involved in the driving of the vehicle having only just turned 25, no licence for the vehicle etc, instead I intend hiring 2 drivers.
I´ve had a look around myself, but I would appreciate some advice from you guys with more experience.
For the record I will be using this truck across Europe.

Who is the best/cheapist insurance company for trucks of this nature (with best cover)?
What should I look out for when taking out insurance? any cons etc?
I won´t initially be based in the UK but my truck will spend a lot of time around Oxford area UK, who are the best service agents for these vehicles?
What should I look out for when buying a new truck second hand?
From what I understand the road tax seems to be around 1250 GBP. Does this seems about right? if so, where do I tax a vehicle like this?
I can´t think of much more other than this for now, but, any other really helpful information you can provide will be greatly appreciated.
What do I do about fines my drivers receive abroad?
Any mileage related things to be aware of?

Within the first few months, I plan on buying a 44 tonne curtain side truck if all goes well. Does the procedure differ at all for a larger truck?

Thanks
Martin

martinn12005:
Who is the best/cheapist insurance company for trucks of this nature (with best cover)?

it’s best to ring around, some companies can offer a better deal if your circumstances suit their normal trade, there’s lots of ads in the back of Commercial Motor or you could try asking these people ( although the forum doesn’t seem to be active yet ) viewtopic.php?f=95&t=54093

I won´t initially be based in the UK but my truck will spend a lot of time around Oxford area UK, who are the best service agents for these vehicles?