Priorité à Droite

Just wondering if anyone could update me with status of this barmpot piece of Gallic legislation .

I’m aware that it still exists , inasmuch as it’s never officially been repealed , and I’m also aware that the occasionally encountered yellow diamond signs signify the presence of a PàD zone , although I can’t recall ever seeing that many of them .

I also have various items of soiled laundry to testify to my experience that the priorité à droite mindset also seems to be prominent in certain various backwater French villages that don’t appear to have the luxury of signage advertising that fact , as I’ve almost come a cropper on the odd occasion over the years .

But as I have had very little experience in recent years , my question would be : in 2023 , how widespread is it these days to witness a 2cv exit a virtual dirt track onto an obviously more prominent thoroughfare with a total disregard for oncoming vehicles ?

Is it as common these days as it was in the 60s , or have the French motoring public seen the light and finally kicked this intrinsically dangerous practice into touch ? … I very much doubt that somehow .

In fairness , I have to say that over the years , in the main , I’ve found the Gallic approach to the control and regulation of traffic to be both sensible and logical . More so than in the U.K. quite often in fact .

To give just one small example out of many , the flashing amber traffic lights at crossroads in the centre of some small towns in the middle of the night when everyone’s in bed and there’s hardly any traffic about … Why couldn’t we adopt that idea here ? … instead of sitting at a red light for ten minutes at 2 a.m with no-one else around for miles ?

I could cite quite a few more actually , but the priorité à droite rule wouldn’t be anywhere among them I’m afraid .