Poll for sat nav

hi…
just wondering how many seasoned drivers use sat nav [and what one],as i know when i pass my tests i will have to use one as i dont really know my way round uk to much,

anyone know how companies look upon you if you use sat nav?

sorry if this thread has been done before or if i have posted it in wrong section

Rarely nowadays but it can come in handy. I used to use it mainly when I’d have to travel to areas that were a bit far flung and well off the trunk road network rather than keep looking at the map.

Use it in conjuction with your brain, is the key. If it tells you to do something that doesn’t seem right, don’t do it and let it find another way. Follow it blind and it will get you into trouble sooner or later.

Mine is TomTom 5 on PDA and has generally been well behaved.

ive been using satnav on a pda for the last 6 years. usually ill run which ever program or unit im testing all the time even if i know where im going as usually ill be using the traffic warning and have speed cameras loaded too. also it come in handy for an eta.

as 8 wheels and coffeeholic have said many times ovrer never follow it blindly think of it as a moving map an youll be ok

i wont touch it and i have even gone to the extent where one company offered me the loan of one for a day and i requested they removed it from the cab before i took the truck out. im a map reader

looks like i best start studying my maps…hehe :laughing:

Used to use it all the time for the simple reason it saved space in the cab, when I first started using SatNav I binned a couple of hundred paper maps. These days I have no real need for it, I don’t even take it to work now, as whoever I’m working for give me a small map of the destination, usually hand drawn by one of the regular drivers.

As to how companies look upon you for using SatNav, they wouldn’t really care how you find your destination just as long as you get there.