Paying drivers for rest breaks

Hi ladies and gents. A newbie to the sites and after some good info. I’m a transport manager trying to look after my lads who’s owner has recently made changes effectively not paying drivers for breaks at all. Previously they deducted 45 minutes but now are deducting 1.5hrs for any driver exceeding a 13hr day, the reasoning being max 6hrs working (not more than 4.5hrs driving) followed by a 45min break + another 6hrs equals 12.45hrs. Obviously this has been detrimental to the morale of the troops in addition to the distinct lack of beer chits accrued on a Friday. My aim is to convince the owner it would be a great idea to introduce payment for second breaks basically, as I’ve some great professional drivers disheartened at the move by management to make cuts and I fear I may lose valuable members of my team because of it. The reward for going that extra mile is no longer there and a few have even considered nailing a plank to a trailer to support the mutinous mumblings. I have been told that being paid for breaks is not allowed but have been unable to find anything on Vosa or other websites to back this quote from a company director. I would really appreciate some advice from some guys or gals in the know.

Times must be getting hard .

Where i am at theminute we are paid for time spent at work from clocking in to clocking out and we get very regular visits from osa and this has never been brought up into any of the issues so i can not see any issue with it but am sure others will prove me wrong if there is such legistatiuon out there .