Passing Stonehenge - A303

It seems that during daylight hours there’s very often queues here while car drivers slow right down to look at the rocks that some crowd left behind. I’ve been hearing for God knows how many years debates about building a road tunnel by here. Despite the millions it’s cost to fund Councillors and MP’s to sit on their fat arses discussing this and never reaching a sensible, suitable conclusion…why don’t they stop fruffing around and just build a bloody great hill around these rocks so they can’t be seen from the road? Surely that would ease the congestion at a reasonable cost and make those that want to see the rocks go in and pay to see them instead of holding traffic up. Or perhaps I’m missing something?

I pass there regularly and am left feeling distinctly underwhelmed every time I see it. Not sure what I was expecting the first time I passed but a bunch of little stones wasn’t it.

The idea of a big bank is commendable imo but as it’s a World heritage site I can’t see it happening. Maybe high fencing opposite the rocks would do it, as it’s only when the poor lambs get right beside it that they seem to slow down and wobble all over as they try to take pics on their phone. Not that I would do that of course!

I’m surprised that McDonald’s hav’nt opened a restaurant next to it ! (Yet)

I am surprised they built it so near the road! Same mistake was made with Windsor Castle!

How come the rocks don’t fall over in that picture? :laughing:

the maoster:
I pass there regularly and am left feeling distinctly underwhelmed every time I see it. Not sure what I was expecting the first time I passed but a bunch of little stones wasn’t it.