Part time driving position

Hi everyone,
Just joined the website so hi to everyone.
Just wondered what everyones opinion would be on how to approach how i want to drive commercially & if its possible. I’m a class 2 driver (no experience commercially) as I currently work in emergency services but are looking to work in the commercial sector 2 days a week and full weeks as and when I can.
my questions are:
Q1: Does anyone know any companies that I can look at in west Yorkshire area & which agencies are best to contact. spoke with poundworld and just waiting a reply)
Q2: would i be better trying to go direct or go through an agency? (i know agency drivers can get a bad rep) - dad use to be a artic driver and would always complain about agencies.

Just got to get my head around drivers hours and digital tachographs now. :slight_smile:

thanks everyone.

How many days a week do you work in your current job ?

I work 2 days and 2 nights then 4 off but i’m exempt from driving hours. but to keep within my organisations other work policy i can only work on day off 2 and 3. if that makes sense. :smiley:

Agency be your best bet. Not many companies have part time jobs (they use agencies for that).

thanks for the reply, appreciate it.

Try reed boardall in Boroughbridge matt, you can do 1 or 6 days a week as a casual driver,tramp,days or nights on fridges.good luck.

The problem you’re going to have is that you’re unlikely to be able to work 2 days a week as you’re hoping to, in weeks that you drive in-scope of EU regulations any work done in your usual job in the same week will count as other work, even though the driving is exempt from EU regulations it and any other work you do will count as other work.