Owens Road Services

Anyone know much about these?

Possibility of a job near me…wondering what they are like?

Got an interview tomorrow…

2 days, 2 nights, 2 off…3 of us sharing a lorry. £8 ph.

Mainly foodstuffs but some steel. Never done steel before :open_mouth:

I havent done much steel but Ive always been told plenty of straps and good timbers is the key.

What sort of steel - plates, coils, slit coils, sheets, channels, flats, angles, RSJs, … :question: :question: :question:

I think they do alot of coil Rog

No idea what sort of steel…didn’t ask.

I know they work out of Corus in Wales sometimes…if that’s any help?

I will be asking tomorrow what training they would give me if they want me to work on steel…as i have never done it before!

I havent had any just go and load that was mine :unamused: :neutral_face:

DonutUK:
I will be asking tomorrow what training they would give me if they want me to work on steel…as i have never done it before!

Excellent idea - steel can be very dangerous if not secred properly and with the correct restraints.
Just to prove a point, have at look at this post from toady …
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=49900&start=0

If told straps are ok then ask - why not chains? - some steel is ok with straps but most needs chains and tensioners - ratchet ones are safer than lock-over type

There is some info on straps, chain tensioners etc via the link in my signature if you want to take a look…

my mate works for them 4 on 4 off got a brand new XF105 he shares with another driver. he says it’s one of the best jobs he’s ever had.
if you’re going to be doing shifts you’ll mainly be doing supermarket stuff to RDC’s the steel is usually for the trampers.
if you want any advice on steel though ask away thats all i load out of spain for the rest of europe

welshboyinspain:
if you want any advice on steel though ask away thats all i load out of spain for the rest of europe