? on exhaust brakes

I’m still learning the ropes so to speak,
Do leave your exhaust brake on when pulling an empty trailer?
Do you just turn it off when driving unit only (bobtail)?
Also ? on tag axles and midlifts,
when trailer is empty and you are dropping or hooking axles up or down?
Am I right in always having axles down when dropping/hooking laden trailers?
Sorry about all the :question: 's
thanks for any help.

From my experience all makes of truck are different so your question re leaving exhast brake on is to go by the feel of it. Volvo one is very efficient, so may be best off.
most trucks with lifting axles have weight sensor built in, so when picking up a loaded trailer, the axle wil come down automatically, dependant on how high trailer has been dropped, ie how much of it’s weight is applied to unit before you start lowerring legs. Always prefer to run in with axles down, but that is personal. Sometimes with mid lift, and low profiles you might not be able to ‘lock’ onto trailer without raising mid axle, as can lift chasis a little which might help.
Hope this helps

Volvo’s n Scanies have a switch for the exhauster, normally I leave it on loaded, empty or solo. If its wet or slippery for some reason, then I knock it off when solo, so that the back axle won’t step out when the auto exhauster kicks in.

As for hooking up or dropping trailers, I normally have all the axles down, and then lift, or not, to suit the trailers load.

No probs with you asking for help, thats one of the things we’re here for. :astonished: :astonished: :wink:

Some exhaust brakes are excellent, some are a waste of space, others lie in between. Try each one out on each motor as they can differ between even similar motors.

It would be nice if trucks actually had exhaust brakes that actually made a difference when fully loaded.

I thought you only turned the exhaust brake on when you want to slow down?? :open_mouth:

I only use mine when loaded, the noise gets on my ■■■■!