Night market work

Hi guys, could somebody explain exactly what night market work involves please? I am a relatively new driver and have a chance of getting a job with a firm in Donington on nights but have heard some horror stories so thought I would ask the experts what this entails.

many thanks in advance.

ss

Working nights at a market would be my guess! :wink:

one qualification you will need is eyes in the back of your head… but on the plus side most of the market lads anywhere are a good bunch to work with… daunting at first but once you get to know everybody and most important, get a lot of phone numbers, you will find it a piece of pee

Yeah (nights) would be 12am onwards most likely if produce , there maybe some handball if not the whole load involved unloading the the markets , bags of carrots/spuds ect ,

It could be either fresh fruit and veg or chilled/frozen. It will most likely be to wholesale markets i.e where your local market trader will go to buy their stock. They can be big places and you could go into one market with multiple drops for different wholesalers. They can be a be daunting at first but once you know the wholesalers and there delivery points they are easy. Smithfields, Billingsgate Fish market and Rungis in Paris are a few of the more famous ones.

Strike up a good relationship with the fork truck drivers at the markets. They can help you a lot when it comes to getting multi-tipped, and even making some time on your rounds. :wink:

Winseer:
Strike up a good relationship with the fork truck drivers at the markets. They can help you a lot when it comes to getting multi-tipped, and even making some time on your rounds. :wink:

and they will expect a £5 bung :smiley:

Winseer:

this^^^
it all seems abit manic and daunting at first, but once you suss out where stuff is, who’s who, and how to get on with everyone, you should be laughing.