Newbie struggling with reversing.

Hi all,

I’m fairly new to the trucking with only having my class 2 license since December last year. I started my first driving job in the new year but I’m still struggling with with reversing. I just can’t seem to get the truck into the right positions especially at the depot, we have three bays and a yard we park the trucks in but it’s quite tight. I’ve took the passenger wing mirror off twice already :cry: . I’m also struggling to judge the lenghth and the picking the correct point in which to start turning to back in to miss the gate posts etc… If anyone has any pointers for me that would be amazing.

What an embarrassing post to write :blush: I’ll take man points of myself lol

I’m not taking the ■■■■ but try this …marops.net/portfolio/trailer-reversing-game

bald bloke:
I’m not taking the ■■■■ but try this …marops.net/portfolio/trailer-reversing-game

That wont help a rigid driver ha

mrginge:

bald bloke:

Bugger i didn’t read it properly :blush: :blush: no don’t play it then it’ll make things worse. I can’t reverse rigids myself. :blush: :blush:

I know it’s a cliche but it all comes with practise. When I did my class 2 training, the truck had a bright coloured peg fixed to the o/s side under run bumpers, it was in such a position so that whatever I was reversing upto in my eyeline, it would be level with the bottom of it.

I’m not taking the ■■■■ either but how do you reverse your car or is that missing mirrors and full of dents too.

It’s the same principle just bigger,

May I suggest you take your car and practice reversing in Asda or another sort of car park at night. Cover back window and use your wing mirrors to navigate around the car park .

bald bloke:

mrginge:

bald bloke:

Bugger i didn’t read it properly :blush: :blush: no don’t play it then it’ll make things worse. I can’t reverse rigids myself. :blush: :blush: