Newbie advise required

hi i am a fairly newbie looking for advise i have done 1 trip abroad b4 but this i will need advise on i am leaving heathrow going to laval in france but being sent portsmouth caen never done b4 booked on 0800 departure portsmouth to tip at laval 0800 tuesday and booked on 1445 (local time) tuesday for return advise required how to run help required

cheers for reading

john

Nothing to worry about there.
Allow minimum of an hr before your departure time at Portsmouth . Same the other side. Otherwise just follow the signs and do what people tell you to.

Driving in France, make sure you have means to pay the tolls and off you go.

Easy.

you can pay your tolls with a fuel card, i use either bp, as24 or my shell card. you will get a cabin but it will be shared, it will be ok for a shower and to rest for a bit as your on a morning crossing.

I use that boat on a regularly basis (5 times in one week once), during the daytime sailings its just under 6 hrs sailing.

When you get to Portsmouth pull on the weighbridge and tell him your going to Caen, he will then give you a weigh ticket then pull forward into a lane marked up above for Caen. Put hi viz jacket on then book onto the ferry at the office behind you slightly to your left, ask at the weighbridge and he will show you if your not sure and remember your CMR and Passport.

You will get a credit size card this is your cabin key ( 2 drivers to a cabin and they have always paired me up with a fellow brit ) and gets you half price off the food ( A tip when getting food if you drink wine, the small red wine I think called Dauphin is buy one get one free, the other small bottles maybe the same but thats the one I get ) Coffee is free on the ferry for truck drivers when you show your cabin key.

When you get out of your truck remember which stairs or lift you have used and what level you are on, makes it easier when looking for your truck when you arrive.