New User - Hello from Northern Ireland!

Hello guys,

Thought it was about time I introduced myself on here, as I have been reading up on a lot of things in this forum.

My name is Ross, and i’m from northern ireland.

i currently am on my second lorry - which is currently having a full overhaul.

i am an owner / driver, and work for my own family business. driving is not my full time job, but i love being out at the dizzy speeds of 56mph and sitting up high!!!

my first lorry was a 1997 DAF 45 which I bought from my father in law for the huge sum of £500

needless to say, I spent a few £££ more on it to pimp it up (i’ve had this forum handle for about 15 years now, and it definitely suits me!) and she served me well, but with having more and more work on, the wee DAF was struggling and couldn’t legally carry the weights I required.

The DAF got a complete restoration. The cab was rotten so a lot of welding took place, and it was straightened up as good as new. The interior was stinking dirty, so seats, carpets and headlining were removed, cleaned, retrimmed and refitted to the freshly painted interior. I added a decent radio and a set of speakers, fitted interior lights, reversing camera and in dash cam.

Exterior wise, it was given a full shot blasting, painted top to bottom, wheel trims fitted, LED rear lights and side marker lights, as well as the obligatory chrome bar and 4 x jumbo spots, and air horns.

I loved it, and was really sad when I traded it in to a dealer over in England (Atlantic DAF) for its replacement. Something was lost in translation, as I was originally after an 18tonner, but the dealer thought i wanted something which could carry 18 tonne of a load, and I ended up getting the dublin-holyhead ferry over to england to pick up the wee DAFs replacement - a 2001 Renault Premium 420