New member needs Euro help, please

:blush: Hi all, this site is new to me, looks pretty good though.

I am new to class 1 driving, had my licence 4mths, been offered a job running from Uk to Europe. I’ve taken coaches abroad before, thru’ Dover & Portsmouth, but never an HGV.

I’m concerned on what I need to do at the docks on both sides. Can someone, explain in simple terms what to do & how the crossing effects driving hours/rest and what the score is, once on board.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

John :smiley:

Hi cornish trucker, welcome to the site im sorry that i cannot help with this but there will be lots on here that will be able to help just wanted to welcome you and wish you luck with your new job over seas good luck mate.

If you use the search on Trucknet you will find all the answers but basically if you are going through dover it’s like driving over the humber bridge. At dover go over the weighbridge, collect a ticket and drive round the corner, Here you get to choose a ferry, P&O or Sea France, Some companies have a special deal so ask the boss if he has a preference. You then drive up to the ticket booth and hand your weight ticket and passport over and they issue tickets with a lane number on them. That’s about it! P&O use to advertise Dover / Calais in 75 minutes. It now takes over 2 hours but thats progress.
:confused:
You can use the shuttle too, similar prices or cheaper and quicker normally. At the other side you just drive off and leave the port, terminal! Return is similar but instead of using a weighbridge you need to go through security, either X Ray, Heart Beat or Physical search. Drive to ticket booth and same procedure.