New job offer (kinda)

So ive been offered a new job

sort of. same company but different department. Im currently doing General haulage tramping monday to friday. wage is good for my area and i run to top hours semi regularly. Not necasarily by choice but Im happy with it.

Ive been offered a job on the “Staging” side of the business. Events festivals tours ect. These range from business conventions to 1/2 night music gigs to full 16 week european tours.

The pay will be the same hourly but i stand to earn about 4 grand a year more because of the tours… getting paid for weekly rest when away and more weekend work at a higher rate p/h ect. plus there is bonus money as well plus perks as in catering ect.

Im a relativley new driver less than 18 months. so the opportunity is a good one to have the chance to break into european work so early. its also something ive wanted to do since i was a kid. getting paid to tour the world(ish) seems like a pretty cushi number.

my question is this… for those of you in the events line of work. how does it affect your home life? As in is there a reasonable balance between home and work. i stand to be away for up to 3-4 months but the guy offering me the job reckons ill actually get more time at home. albeit not predicatble days. or a predictable pattern to it.

obviously though its in this guys interest to sell it to me because he needs a driver. so i thought id ask people that actually do it.

if it changes peoples opinions of it i have 2 young kids at home 18months and 6 months. which are the only reason im umming and ahhing about it

cheers in advance

CMG

Sent from my SM-A310F using Tapatalk

16 weeks away from my kids…not a chance,that’s as far as my thought process would go.