New class1 driver lacking confidence reversing

Hi guys I’ve been driving class2 for 5 years with no problems I past my class1 a year ago but I’m lacking confidence reversing into tight bays etc driving is not a problem just reversing anybody know any help or what I could do to get my confidence up as I need a job asap any help is appreciated many thanks Gavin

My advice is to find an open space and practice putting it where you want. That was my problem at the start. Some of our pick ups were in tight places and round corners. Just take your time!

All us Newbie benders lack confidence with reversing mate, you’re not alone…
So just get on with it and don’t be frightened to take your time, even if DipperDave is behind waiting and busting for a crap! :laughing:

Like most things in life, practise is the best. As has been said just take your time, and don’t worry about what others are thinking.

You are in the majority my friend. Very few people can drop straight into reversing artics and be gods from the outset. You have passed your test so you plainly know how to do it but what you don’t yet have is the self belief that comes with more practice and experience.

My tips, along with those already given is to take it slow and make small adjustments on the steering wheel. If you can get a “good side” reverse take it but don’t shy away from “blind side” as there will come a time when that will be your only option. If in doubt get out and look unless you know people offering assistance be wary of their advice - YOU ARE THE DRIVER not them. Don’t beat yourself up when it goes belly up; don’t get cocky when you land it without shunting.

If it is any help I still go from awesome to awful in a matter of hours as long as you don’t hit anything, make the delivery and everyone walks away it is a successful day.