Near impossible red airline

Just picked up a brand new truck and the red air line is near impossible to get on, anyone know why this might be? Never had any issues with putting on airlines before but this one is different somehow.

Don’t know if you’ve tried it, but I have found that it can help to not have the engine running while you hook up the lines.

DJC:
Just picked up a brand new truck and the red air line is near impossible to get on, anyone know why this might be? Never had any issues with putting on airlines before but this one is different somehow.

I’ve found this with certain units. I’m no mechanic but if I’m struggling I just pump the footbrake for a bit & that tends to do the trick.

The seal in the female “c” union has gone hard.Spray some white grease up it or dip it in the fuel tank.

Usually new trucks have the black all in one union and self sealing valve as one unit.
Probably been sat in some storage yard for 12 months and the seal ring has perished.

best way is to change the female union and sealing unit as the one piece units are cheap rubbish.

This is getting silly now, red airlines on some trailers require the driver to push on really hard, even if you get to the point that air is ■■■■■■■ out keep pushing for all your worth and it will click on.

Putting the yellow on first can help but if your not man enough to put the red airline on you shouldnt be driving the truck until such a time that you have the muscle power to cope.

In 20+ years I have never come across this.

So as not to come across to manly, I may only have a 2 inch nail but a 16 stone hammer to ram it in with.

Dipper_Dave:
This is getting silly now, red airlines on some trailers require the driver to push on really hard, even if you get to the point that air is ■■■■■■■ out keep pushing for all your worth and it will click on.