N/S/R puncture.

Right chaps, your thoughts please.
I’m a bus driver.

I pulled in at the end of my route today and did my walk round check(which we have to do at the end of each journey).
I had a N/S/R outer punchture(twin wheel).

I called my company and the engineering supervisor asked me to drive it back to the garage empty.
I will admit, I was not happy doing it, and told the supervisor.
He stated that it was not illegal as I was taking the bus back to the garage.

Ive had a look at VOSA’s defect book, and can’t find anything in there saying its a PG9 or illegal.

Your thoughts?

Welll first question…how far away was depot…a few miles well worth taking it back and your empty and I doubt the tyre looked too obvious.
Was it an offence well most of us doing the same would claim it just happened and we were moving to a safe place…300 miles away :smiley:
and I forgot to note N/S/R…kerbside…who would see it.

A flat tyre is a defective tyre

ADR 1:
A flat tyre is a defective tyre

Only at the bottom :wink:

There’s nothing to say you can’t drive with a punctured tyre but I’m surprised an engineering supervisor said to carry on. There would have been extra weight forced onto the good tyre still remaining and carrying on would have put that at extra risk of damage or failure.
Personally I would have stood my ground on this one and refused to take it back.

About 10 miles back to depot.

In that case your engineering manager is an irresponsible prick.
The only reason you are told you can drive with a puncture is so you don’t become a moron sat in the outside lane on the M25 trying to change a tyre. It’s not so you can carry on your journey until you can put your feet up and get a cuppa.
Remember it’s 3 points and £100 fine per tyre if they’re defective (fixed penalty - could be more if sent to court) and that’s on the driver of the vehicle not the operator.