My second big mistake

Hi trucknet

Im not doing very well with this artic driving despite doing it for a few years now, first was the low bridge and reversing blind side into farm giles’s field and then i made my second big ■■■■ up, i took a wrong turn and the only place turn round was in this little bit of road. now i found this difficult, may be because i am inexperienced or im just a crap driver i dont know.

just wondered what the drivers on here with years of experience under their belt would of thought about reversing into this gap to turn round.

i got out and had a look at around to plan my reverse to see if i could reverse my taught without hitting anything , thought it wasnt worth the risk and got a passer by to watch me back out onto the main road - i know thats a truck drivers last resort because it mean defeat but i like my job.

thankyou
greg

“Pride goes before a fall”.
Never be afraid to ask if in doubt.

the answer is Rome was not built in a day
&
No One is Perfect ,not even those of us who
have been driving for years,MATE
you just take your time, and you did
excellent mate,
All the best

I would not have even thought of trying to turn round there - it looks tight enough without the parked car.

You did right reversing out the way you came - at least you know it fits.

And some places do take a bit of finding, but you’ll know where it is now for next time! :smiley:

Axletramp’s right. I MAY have tried to spin my rigid round in the gap but certainly not with that car there.

You did the right thing. You may feel a bit of a wally for having to ask a passer-by to see you out, but that’s better than pranging both your motor and the other one aswell

get one of these

shop.syrius-satnav.co.uk/product330646.html

it’s already paid for itself 10 times over!! :wink:

Good luck, i’m fairly new and still get quite stressed sometimes but I just take my time and think through any tricky manouvres before attempting them! :slight_smile: