My Journey - Bus driver to C+E

Hi,

This thread is going to be the complete documented journey from my current position of being a PSV driver to Cat. C+E LGV driver. I have been driving buses for 6 years and I enjoy the driving but don’t like the hassle from the abusive and often drunk passengers.

I have just made the decision to go ahead with the LGV training after weeks of uncertainty, I have been speaking to a training company who are on the recommended list here and who have been really helpful. They have quoted me £2400 for everything from medical to the cat. C and then onto the cat. C+E test.

I already have my CPC card and digital tacho card from driving buses.

I have just booked my medical with my GP, that is in a weeks time. So the ball is rolling and I will now begin jumping through all the hoops until I reach my goal.

NS

Good luck with it all and enjoy it.

hope your GP gave you a good price because most D4 medicals can be done for under £60

Who are you thinking of using for your practical training?

If you have not already got a C1 on your licence then consider doing all three theory tests on the same day - modules 1a 1b + 2

Remember to ask any provider about the price for the module 4

visiting a school and asking about what needs to be done face to face is the best option and never pay any money to anyone you have not met in person

Hi I’ve been driving buses and coaches for over 5 years and decide to go for C+E last year I passed first time class 2 and class 1 total cost 1500£ had couple of days on rigid and couple of days on artic my instructor was fair and told me that I didn’t need many hours as I used to size of vehicle honestly you can save a bit of money as you are professional driver already

Hi,