Lorry or truck

When I started driving and people asked me what did I do for a living I said I was a lorry driver. And when I went to Europe I said I was a long distance lorry driver. I was a teacher as well and worked as a lorry driver during all the holidays but I was never a truck driver at least I never called myself that.

These days it is truck drivers that people call themselves Is this another americanism that has invaded our language like Have a good day or the one that really gets my goat is the fingers in the air doing their inverted commas they just like ■■■■■ doing that Another one that enrages me is at this moment in time ■■■■ me I want to punch lights out when someone says that for something they talk about. 24/7 is another one that gets up my nose. I need to touch base my god that one is a hanging offence they are stark staring mad they think they are playing baseball.Up to speed what ■■■■■■■ speed are they wanting to get up to a total nosensical phrase But what really is a very serious invasion was how they slipped in the word truck and stole our lorries changed them slyly into trucks. In NZ a truck is not a lorry but a ute one of those ugly things whereas a lorry is a majestic lady with lovely lines a real thing of beauty.