Lines on tacho

Are you required by law to draw lines on your tacho,to show when you started and finished.
Thanks

yes.

draw the line with something like edr 0000(end days rest) and sdr1300 (start days rest.

jon

please brit can you upload a rough drawing of how it should look,as i have never written on mine in the 18 months ive been driving and neither was i informed about it in the driving test.
How should i put this WORKING WEEK onto the chart
O=day off
8-8= shift 8am till 8pm
mon tue wed thu fri sat sun
O O 8-8 8-8 O O O
thanks

jonboy:
yes.

draw the line with something like edr 0000(end days rest) and sdr1300 (start days rest.

jon

Err, actually you’re wrong. Some companies require it but it’s not a legal requirement.

As said above, its not a legal requirment but some companys do have this as their policy. Im a trainee tachograph assistant and just learning the ropes at the mo!!

I’m with Conor on this one. It’s not a legal requirement to draw lines on the front of a tachograph chart showing when you start and finish duty. It is a legal requirement to keep a record of the whole days’ driving and other work/ periods of availability on any day when you drive an EC controlled vehicle.
There is nothing wrong (or right) with drawing lines on the front of the chart, provided, the lines do not obsecure any of the recordings made by the tachograph instrument. You could equally write ‘start duty’ and ‘end duty’ with the appropriate times on the reverse of the chart. Our Continental friends like to leave the chart in overnight, hence showing the daily rest period; bit difficult if your vehicle is double shifted!
Don’t forget to make a manual record on the reverse of the chart for any periods of time when you couldn’t use the tacho to make the record, eg, when driving out from base in a car to collect your truck from the service garage.

found on dot website
http://www.dft.gov.uk/stellent/groups/dft_freight/documents/page/dft_freight_504543-02.hcsp#TopOfPage