Lgv training in n.yorks

hi all , im new to this so apologies if any of this has been covered before. im losing my job shortly and at the age of 40 want to get out of the factory environment and get on the road.im looking for a good reliable training set up within 30 miles of Selby.ive done abit of research and one that seems decent value is sterling training based in Leeds . Has anyone any feedback regarding this outfit or any other local to me ?
Alot of people are trying to put me off taking this career path.“hassle, regs, long hours,etc” . its something i fancy having a go at but must admit ive got concerns about finding a decent job when im qualified with having no experience.id hate to blow 2 grand and end up still unemployed.
your thoughts much appreciated. Jon

Regarding the training i would always Reccomend L+T Training at Fitzwilliam. They offer some real good deals and the training is spot on.

As for the work there is plenty around if your willing to work . I started on this career path two years ago and havent found myself out of work for more than a week.

thanks for that. heard a few say L & T are pretty good. my problem is i cant afford to train until i get my redundancy money which will be November.from start to finish providing you pass first time on average how long does it take to get your licence?

Hi Jonnyloppy,

Welcome to Trucknet :smiley:

A few things before you ‘start’…
You’ll need a medical
You’ll need a provisonal class C entitlement
You’ll need to pass your theory test (which is much easier than you would think).

All of the this you can do NOW whilst still working. ( there’s shed-loads of info on trucknet, I won’t repeat the detail!)

Providing you pass 1st time… :sunglasses:

The whole thing can take 5 working days to pass, then perhaps another week for the DVLA to pull their finger out & send your licence back.

There are lots of things that may effect the above - but I’d say 2 weeks is a minimum.