Lady drivers

Hey

New to this forum, just curious to know are there many lady truckers out there?

If so are you day drivers or trampers?

Do you get a load of stick off your male colleagues?

I’m confident Dipper will be here soon…

that will make sense eventually

I used to drive, but only local work. Due to health issues I had to give it up and I’m now a transport manager who drives only to take vehicles for maintenance (sad face).
To be honest with you, I never had any problems with the male drivers, it was the customers who used to take the mickey and give a bit of stick.
I’ve had things like “oh, you’re driving that? really?” and once when I was waiting in the middle of town to access a site, there were pedestrians crossing the road in front of my truck, and an old chap pushed his way to the front, spread his arms out to hold everyone back while shouting “Get out of the way, lady driver”.
But I’ve never taken any of it to heart, I just laugh it off or say something equally stupid back to them

3 female drivers where I am. Treated and expect to be treated no differently. The only difference between them and the male drivers is that the ladies loo near the transport office has a key for the door. Don’t think anyone bats an eyelid at our place.

Used to be a forkie and then van/7.5 driver, never had any trouble. Plenty of banter, but harmless.

We have a few lady trampers at my place, a great bunch and a match for any man.

As far as stick goes it’s only general friendly banter, but I’m old school and believe ladies should always be treated better than men.

Course the limits of the banter are usually lead by the lady although there’s always one bloke who goes to far.

That said Im the shy sort of bloke so I need a bit of tickling to come out me shell in the real world.

I’m also campaigning for more lady truckers on a daily basis.

The first one I met was Karen or was it Kevin. :blush:
Different thread :wink: