Kicking Tyres to check they are Inflated

There was a TV programme about a large British haulier last week and several people commented on the fact that a driver kicked his tyres to check the pressures. There have been comments asking where people can buy tyre pressure checking boots.

I’m puzzled by this because I have been kicking truck and trailer tyres for 25 years now to check the pressures. I thought all truck drivers did. Nobody has ever issued me with a tyre pressure gauge, or told me to stop at the first garage to check them.

Surely I’m not the only driver who can tell whether a tyre is sufficiently inflated by kicking it?

Harry Monk:
There was a TV programme about a large British haulier last week and several people commented on the fact that a driver kicked his tyres to check the pressures. There have been comments asking where people can buy tyre pressure checking boots.

I’m puzzled by this because I have been kicking truck and trailer tyres for 25 years now to check the pressures. I thought all truck drivers did. Nobody has ever issued me with a tyre pressure gauge, or told me to stop at the first garage to check them.

Surely I’m not the only driver who can tell whether a tyre is sufficiently inflated by kicking it?

Harry been doing the same for a bit longer you are not alone.

I’ve been doing it for about 20 years less than both of you, so that makes 3 of us then eh!!

It’s just a quick way of checking that one of the tyres on double bank wheels has’nt got a puncture and gone flat because you won’t know by looking at them.Which is why no one ever checks the front tyres by kicking them :laughing: .But it won’t tell you exactly what pressure they are which is one of the first things the old bill go for in their investigations in the event of an RTA.