Jail time?

Hi all

I’m a new driver ( 6 months) and have worked mainly for agency in that time before landing a job in general haulage 2 months ago ( class 2).

Basically on Friday I was brought into the office and shown 3 counts of driving without tacho.

One - driving a few miles home and then putting tacho in ( I had forgotten it)

Two - a 16 mile drive with no tacho

Three - a 60 mile drive with no tacho.

I was told to write a statement and sign for each offence and told the director they were genuine mistakes- i did not gain financially or avoid a night out. I had no reason for it- I was just stupid and probably trying to impress ( they all took place in first 2 weeks of job).

They said that they had just sacked 3 people for tacho offences and put 7 ( including me ) on final warnings. However he went on to say that if Dvsa requested the info then he was legally obliged to hand over my statements - he said it was “ serious ■■■■” and i may go to jail”.

Obviously since these 3 offences in August I have not even had an infringement / any offence.

What I’m wondering now is how long into the future can I be prosecuted ( is walking around with the rest of my life with this over hanging me ). And is it likely I will go jail if so?

Thanks

Absolute nonsense, failure to use a tachograph is a Level 5 offence with a maximum fine of £5,000 although it is highly unlikely that DVSA would view these as anything other than rookie mistakes.

Thanks for your quick reply. The only detail I did miss was on the 60 mile drive they said I had “ fraudulently pulled” the card. I said I could not remember the details but I assured them I did not do it deliberately to benefit myself at all. I just had no other explanation other than stupidity. I still nighted out, I was within my diving time and working time- there was just no reason other than my own stupidity of which I have learned from now - which I wrote on the statement.