Is 45 too old to emigrate?

So here’s the craic. I’ve just turned 45, the mrs [zb] off out about 2years ago, kids now at college, blah, blah…she got the house, the new car and pretty much everything else I worked and paid for :imp: …so I’m now on my own.

I was on the ferry the other day and had seen the usual ads for drivers wanted in Canada in one of the transport mags, they’re always advertising on the jobcentre here in Ireland too. Lately I’ve been thinking maybe I’d like to give it a go, what would I have to lose? Saved up a few quid, no debts, got lots of years under my belt so why not? But then I don’t know if I’m now too old ?

na…i did it at 48yrs not a problem…jimmy.

Never to old better to regret doing it then regret not trying it.(coming from a 26 year old) I heard it somewhere :slight_smile:.

I heard that Canada is not what you think its gonna be. Long hours and poor pay and conditions can be bad. i could be wrong but i deffo read it on here a few times.

I am a noob so dont let it put you off. I trained with a 50 year old on cat C a few weeks ago. He wants continental work so maybe thats a plan if you fancy a change :smiley:

if you fancy further afield go to NZ then get all ur permits and your in Oz then

DWYNE:
I heard that Canada is not what you think its gonna be. Long hours and poor pay and conditions can be bad. i could be wrong but i deffo read it on here a few times.

I am a noob so dont let it put you off. I trained with a 50 year old on cat C a few weeks ago. He wants continental work so maybe thats a plan if you fancy a change :smiley:

Appreciate the reply… done plenty of continental work myself over the years, been all over Europe on tankers, general & fridges and loved every minute of it. Just fancied a new challenge before I’m too old… seeing new places out on some real distance work.